2.6. Application

An application can be any software or system or OS or database etc. - in the enterprise.  In other words, any software or hardware components which are undergoing a change will be called "Application" in generic sense.
List down all the applications / systems which will participate in different rollouts.
A rollout can include changes to multiple applications at the same time. 
 
Lets try to understand this by taking the example of a new CRM software, the application's list in this case could be the following list. 
  • CRM Application
  • OS (windows / unix) - as - possibly, this team will need to be involved to provide permissions
  • Database 
  • Loadbalancer / Network
 
Add list of "All" applications in the enterprise whose releases will be tracked in rolloutMan (which in most cases is all the applications).
Adding of an exhaustive list of applications neednt be done initially, but can be done on a need basis as rollouts into more and more systems are managed. 
 
Adding a Application
Go to Configuration > Application > Applications
This section shows the list of all the available applications.
Application List

Figure 2.6. Application List

 
To add a new Application to the list, click on the "Add Application" button 
Add New Application

Figure 2.7. Add New Application

 
The following are the fields in Add Application form:
Application Name Name of the application. 
Application Identifier A short identifier for the application. This Identifier will be used across the product in different forms for identifying the application. The Identifier should be unique across all applications.
Application Vesion
Version of the application. 
This is not a mandatory field. This data is for reference only. 
As the version number increases, reports could be generated on the number of rollouts peformed for a given application version.
Description
A short description of the application for reference purposes.
Enabled 
Yes or No.
A application will show up throughout the application only if the application is enabled. This field is typically useful, when the application is still being prepared  and is not available for rollout yet (or) in scenarios where a newer version has come in and the older version needs to be disabled.